PMMMozilla

Integrating PMMail/2 with Mozilla or Firefox

With the help of Oliver Poggensee it is possible to integrate PMMail/2 with Mozilla. That means by clicking a mailto-Link PMMail/2 gets launched automatically.

Download Version 1.10 (Directly from Olivers page incl. the necessary REXX-libraries.)

Since newer versions of Mozilla (and Firefox) use a different way of invoking external mailprograms, the actual script needed some modifications. I added the necessary modications and changed the name of the script to PMMMozilla.cmd to prevent any misunderstandings:

Download Version 2.0 (Source in CP850 - please use "save as".)

Download Version 2.0 (ZIP)

To install the integration tool please unpack REXXWeb.dll and REXXUni.dll from Oliver's package and place them somewhere practical. Save to the same place the amended version of the actual script PMMMozilla.cmd. (I would suggest to use the PMMail/2 directory or a subdirectory of it.)
Lines 33, 36 and 39 in PMMMozilla.cmd contain the Name of the Standard-Account, that is used when invoked from Mozilla and the path to PMMail/2-EXE and to the two REXX DLLs. Please adapt these lines to your needs.
Last but not least to use this script you have to change the prefs.js file (which is located in your Mozille profile directory). The browser needs to be closed when you appy the changes. Please add/change the following three lines in prefs.js (change the path in the first line to your needs):

user_pref("applications.mailto", "I:\\PMMail\\Mozilla\\pmmmozilla.cmd");
user_pref("applications.mailto.parameters", "\""); (changed -> was "\"url%\"")
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.external.mailto", true);

Attention! If you want to set up the first two parameters via "about:config" directly from Mozilla, you have to enter the path without doube backslashes and you have to us just one single quotation mark in the second line!

Oliver just guaratees for his script to be functional for PMMail/2-Versions 2.20.2370, 2.20.2381 and 2.20.2382. More information about Oliver's integration tool can be obtained from his Hompage and from the file info.txt, which is also part of his package.


This page was last modified on 18.04.2006

PMMMozilla

PMMail/2 von Mozilla oder Firefox aus starten

Mit Hilfe der Arbeit von Oliver Poggensee ist es möglich, PMMail/2 in Mozilla zu integrieren. Das heißt, daß bei einem Klick auf einen mailto-Link automatisch PMMail/2 geöffnet wird.

Download Version 1.10 (Direkt von Olivers Seite inkl. der nötigen REXX-Bibliotheken.)

In den letzten Versionen von Mozilla (bzw. Firefox) wurde allerdings der Aufruf eines externen Mailprogramms etwas abgeändert, so daß diese Integration nicht mehr einwandfrei funktioniert. Ich habe deshalb das Skript überarbeitet, so daß auch die aktuellen Mozilla-Versionen wieder mitspielen:

Download Version 2.0 (Quellcode in CP850 - bitte "speichern unter" verwenden.)

Download Version 2.0 (ZIP)

Zur Installation des Integrationstools sind die Dateien REXXWeb.dll und REXXUni.dll aus Olivers Paket zu entpacken und an einem wahlfreien Ort abzulegen. Dazu kommt dann meine geänderte Version des eigentlichen Skripts PMMMozilla.cmd. (Ich würde das PMMail/2-Verzeichnis bzw. ein Unterverzeichnis davon vorschlagen.)
Die Zeilen 33, 36 und 39 in PMMMozilla.cmd enthalten den Namen des Standard-Accounts, der beim Aufruf von PMMail/2 von Mozilla aus verwendet werden soll, und die Pfade zur PMMail/2-EXE bzw. zu den REXX DLLs. Diese sind entsprechend der eigenen Installation anzupassen.
Schließlich müssen die folgenden drei Einträge in der prefs.js-Datei (diese befindet sich im Mozilla-Profilverzeichnis) vorgenommen werden. Der Browser darf dabei nicht geöffnet sein. (In der ersten Zeile ist der Pfad zur PMMMozilla.cmd entsprechend dem gewählten Installationsverzeichnis anzupassen.)

user_pref("applications.mailto", "I:\\PMMail\\Mozilla\\pmmmozilla.cmd");
user_pref("applications.mailto.parameters", "\""); (geändert -> war "\"url%\"")
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.external.mailto", true);

Achtung! Wer die ersten beiden Parameter über "about:config" direkt aus Mozilla einstellen will, muß bei der ersten Zeile die Pfadangabe ohne doppelte Backslash eingeben und bei der zweiten nur ein einzelnes Anführungszeichen!

Die Funktion des Integrationstools wird von Oliver nur für die PMMail/2-Versionen 2.20.2370, 2.20.2381 und 2.20.2382 garantiert. Nähere Informationen rund um das Integrationstool von Oliver Poggensee finden sich auf seiner Hompage und in der Datei info.txt, die ebenfalls Teil des Integrationstools ist.


Diese Seite wurde zuletzt geändert am 18.04.2006